Author Topic: Career Path to NASA  (Read 898 times)

Offline mikewoz

• Illinois
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 6
Career Path to NASA
« on: 01/10/2019 12:55 am »
Hi there,

Thanks in advance to everyone reading this post. I have a deep passion for NASA and would consider a career with NASA to be my greatest possible success. I'm working on an engineering associates at a community college and I'm deciding between finishing a bachelors in mechanical engineering or aeronautical & astronautical engineering (Purdue). I'm also a private pilot (single engine airplanes) working on my instrument rating, and I serve part time in the Army NG in an aviation unit.

Going forward, how can I tailor my career choices to best put me on track for a job with NASA? Experience and further education? Internships or co-op? Any input is greatly appreciated. Thank you and best wishes

Offline Fequalsma

• Liked: 22
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: Career Path to NASA
« Reply #1 on: 01/10/2019 01:26 am »
I did a BS in engineering from Purdue, and was also a co-op at NASA.  You should look in to the NASA Internship and Fellowship (NIFS) program to get your foot in the door at NASA.  Or you could intern or co-op in industry to get similar practical experience.  Good luck!
F=ma

Offline mikewoz

• Illinois
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 6
« Reply #2 on: 01/10/2019 01:43 am »
I will definitely keep an eye out for those opportunities. Thank you very much for your input!

Offline Markstark

• Liked: 140
  • Likes Given: 39
Career Path to NASA
« Reply #3 on: 01/10/2019 01:50 am »