Author Topic: Remember the FCV poppet issue from STS-126?  (Read 3143 times)

Offline rdale

• Assistant to the Chief Meteorologist
  • Lansing MI
  • Liked: 240
  • Likes Given: 27
Remember the FCV poppet issue from STS-126?
« on: 06/05/2010 12:46 PM »
http://ntrs.nasa.gov/archive/nasa/casi.ntrs.nasa.gov/20100020162_2010013890.pdf

The presentation examines the background and objective of nondestructive crack detection, flow control valve assembly and poppet post flight evaluation, poppet properties. magnetic property characterization of lab data, NDE, eddy current inspection, simulation, eddy current criteria, poppet cycle testing and NDE criteria, and the use of ultrasonic surface wave for crack detection.

Offline DwightM

• Veteran
  • Valdez, AK
  • Liked: 299
  • Likes Given: 168
Re: Remember the FCV poppet issue from STS-126?
« Reply #1 on: 06/05/2010 04:29 PM »
This is awesome.  I was an NDE tech for 10 years (5 in the USAF and 5 on the North Slope of Alaska) and EC was my favorite discipline , with UT as a close second.  The thorough attention to detail, and the cool tools they came up with, are impressive.  Thanks for posting this rdale.

Offline Chris Bergin

« Reply #2 on: 06/05/2010 06:19 PM »
I wrote about 30 articles on this:

http://www.nasaspaceflight.com/tag/fcv/

Offline DwightM

• Veteran
  • Valdez, AK
  • Liked: 299
  • Likes Given: 168
« Reply #3 on: 06/05/2010 08:04 PM »
I wrote about 30 articles on this:

Yep, and they were some of my favorites, just never bothered commenting until now. 
All of the articles on this site (regardless of the author) do a great job of explaining complex & technical subjects in a very comprehendible way.
Maybe that last remark belongs in the 5 Year thread. :)
« Last Edit: 06/05/2010 08:05 PM by DwightM »

Offline iamlucky13

• Liked: 102
  • Likes Given: 93
« Reply #4 on: 06/10/2010 05:35 AM »