Author Topic: NASA - Cassini updates  (Read 262979 times)

Online deruch

  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2115
  • California
  • Liked: 1627
  • Likes Given: 3092
Re: NASA - Cassini updates
« Reply #760 on: 04/02/2018 02:42 AM »



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7P5bsmVuqo?t=001s

Planning Cassiniís Grand Finale

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Streamed live on Mar 22, 2018
Original air date: March 22 at 7 p.m. PT (10 p.m. ET, 0200 UTC)
 
Mission planning is a core strength of JPL engineering, along with deep space communications and navigation. This talk looks back at the various scenarios and contingency plans the Cassini team made as they steered the spacecraft into unexplored space during its 2017 Grand Finale at Saturn. Sturm discussed how the possible scenarios -- some of which could have been mission-ending -- compared to the mission as it was actually flown, along with some science highlights from the finale.
 
Erick Sturm, JPL Systems Engineer
Shouldn't reality posts be in "Advanced concepts"?  --Nomadd

Tags: