Author Topic: The "I'm brand new to Shuttle, explain what an RCS thruster is and does etc" Q&A  (Read 20950 times)

Online Chris Bergin

This thread is for people who have either been interested in shuttle, but never took it to the "what's an OMS engine for?" level, or have just gotten into shuttle.

This is literally an opening shuttle education Q&A. The main Shuttle Q&A sections are too involved for newbies I'm starting to hear.

If people want to post basic images and information to help, please do.

We all started somewhere (I used to think the boosters were being supplied by the ET when I was first getting into shuttle, for example!) So let's go basic for this thread.
« Last Edit: 06/27/2009 05:54 am by Chris Bergin »

Offline DansSLK

• Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
OK then i'll give answering that a shot, the RCS (Reaction Control System) consists of 3 modules, 2 located in the OMS pods either side of the vertical tail and 1 on the nose.

The system enables attitude control and maneuvering while on orbit, it is normally active from late in the ascent and is phased out during entry as the aerosurfaces become effective.

The system consists of 44 RCS jets, 38 primary and 6 vernier, the forward RCS has 14 primary and 2 vernier jets, the aft RCS has 12 primary and 2 vernier jets in each pod.

Primary jets provide 870 pounds of thrust and the vernier jets provide 24 pounds of thrust, both types of jet use nitrogen tetroxide as the oxidiser and monomethyl hydrazine as the fuel, the propellants are hypergolic which means they ignite on contact and do not need a seperate ignition system.
« Last Edit: 06/27/2009 06:46 am by DansSLK »

Offline STS Tony

• Extreme Veteran
  • Los Angeles
  • Liked: 40
  • Likes Given: 93
Now that is funny Dan. Nothing like taking things literally :D

Offline MikeMi.

• Gd, Poland
  • Liked: 1