Author Topic: FEATURE: Curiosity confirms organics on Mars; Opportunity’s 10 year anniversary  (Read 81096 times)

Offline Chris Bergin

Support NSF via L2 -- Help improve NSF -- Site Rules/Feedback/Updates
**Not a L2 member? Whitelist this forum in your adblocker to support the site and ensure full functionality.**

Offline Rocket Science

• NASA Educator Astronaut Candidate Applicant 2002
  • Liked: 4548
  • Likes Given: 13523
Wonderful article Chris G. :) What a fantastic little machine that continues to amaze... The teams should proud of their accomplishment!
"The laws of physics are unforgiving"
~Rob: Physics instructor, Aviator

Offline eric_astro

• USA
  • Liked: 21
  • Likes Given: 134
Great article! It's hard to keep up with, and to filter for, the most important  news on the lander missions. Still, NASA's, JPL's, and the university run sites have lots of content, and are of high quality.

I'm not an engineer, but the shorthand references by posters in some threads, to Mars' atmosphere as a vacuum, seem slightly exaggerated! Seems like the mean path length between molecule collisions is closer to the Earth's rather than interplanetary space (see below image from NSF article).

Offline go4mars

• Earth
  • Liked: 158
  • Likes Given: 3463
Excellent Article! ;D
Elasmotherium; hurlyburly Doggerlandic Jentilak steeds insouciantly gallop in viridescent taiga, eluding deluginal Burckle's abyssal excavation.

Offline Bubbinski

Superb article, many thanks Chris G!  Excellent overview and summary of the 2 operational Mars rovers and the current mission status.
I'll even excitedly look forward to "flags and footprints" and suborbital missions. Just fly...somewhere.

Offline Escapist

• Tempe, AZ
  • Liked: 11
  • Likes Given: 11