Author Topic: Elon and the moon  (Read 6547 times)

Offline westflech

• United States
  • Liked: 2
  • Likes Given: 0
Elon and the moon
« on: 12/17/2018 06:38 pm »
Hi.  I'm new to this blog, hope the following idea is not old hat already.  I've been thinking about Spacex, and the other ventures Elon is involved with.  I have a scenario that links (almost) all his ventures to open up the solar system to exploration, manned and otherwise.  Not saying if this is or is not possible any time soon, just hoping to get some feedback.  Everyone I talk to about it thinks I'm crazy. 

Anyway, I see Elon now plans to have a moon base, in addition to Mars aspirations.  His Boring Co is also working on creating much faster TBMs.  If you put a nose cone on a TBM, it is kind of the shape of the upper stage of his BFR.  Anyway, in my proposal, the Boring Co could create a fast TBM that works in a vacuum.  Spacex would then get the TBM to the surface of the moon.  TBMs need power.  Elon's solar power systems to service.  Set up the solar plant on the moon surface.  Once the tunnel is created, or more likely as it's be being dug, line the tunnel with Hyperloop tech linear inductors.  Linear inductors would send the future missions on their way, and could probably be used to lift the tunnel rock to the surface during construction.  Rail gun tech might also work here.