Author Topic: V2 Rocket Engine Question  (Read 1678 times)

Offline Space Gnat

• Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
V2 Rocket Engine Question
« on: 12/09/2018 11:46 am »
Update: I believe I may have found the answers to my questions. The main fuel valve is a bypass-type pressure regulation valve. The alcohol flows from the lower chamber up into the valve which then passes on most of it on to the upper chamber at a regulated pressure while bleeding off fuel back to the pump feed line as a method of regulating pressure.  Can anyone confirm this?  The Combustion Cutaway picture may indicate that the fuel comes up from the lower chamber via the large vertical center hole under where the valve would sit, and the valve would pass the fuel on to the upper chamber via the circle of smaller horizontal holes above.

--------------

Hi, I am a newbie just starting to learn about rocket engines and thus am beginning with the V2 engine.  I am hoping that someone can help me with a few basic questions.

One area of information which I have not been able to easily locate is the alcohol routing after it passes up through the regenerative cooling jackets of the combustion chamber, and the working of the main fuel valve system in the top center of the combustion housing.

The alcohol gets fed from the pump to the six large tubes and enters the round manifold near the bottom of the nozzle, and passes up through the cooling jackets to the "lower head chamber " (the cooling jacket right above the combustion chamber). How does the fuel get from there to the "upper head chamber" (the alcohol manifold feeding the burner cups) which is right above the lower head chamber?