Author Topic: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018  (Read 42848 times)

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126
Re: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018
« Reply #60 on: 10/17/2018 02:47 am »
Quote
10:44 p.m. EDT (0244 UTC)

The Centaur liquid oxygen tank is topping to flight level. Meanwhile, first stage liquid oxygen loading is transitioning from slow-fill to fast-fill mode.
https://www.ulalaunch.com/missions/atlas-v-aehf-4

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126
Re: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018
« Reply #61 on: 10/17/2018 02:54 am »
Quote
10:50 p.m. EDT (0250 UTC)

The first stage liquid oxygen tank has reached the 20 percent mark.
https://www.ulalaunch.com/missions/atlas-v-aehf-4

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126
Re: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018
« Reply #62 on: 10/17/2018 02:57 am »
Quote
10:55 p.m. EDT (0255 UTC)

The launch team has received the "go" to begin filling the Centaur upper stage with the super-cold fuel following chilldown of the system. The Centaur holds about 12,300 gallons of the cryogenic propellant for its three engine burns during this launch.
https://www.ulalaunch.com/missions/atlas-v-aehf-4

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126
Re: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018
« Reply #63 on: 10/17/2018 03:04 am »
Quote
11:02 p.m. EDT (0302 UTC)

First stage liquid oxygen tank is 50 percent full thus far. The LOX will be consumed along with RP-1, a highly refined kerosene, by the RD-180 main engine on the first stage during the initial four-and-a-half minutes of flight. The 25,000 gallons of RP-1 were loaded into the rocket after rollout yesterday.
https://www.ulalaunch.com/missions/atlas-v-aehf-4

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126
Re: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018
« Reply #64 on: 10/17/2018 03:05 am »
« Last Edit: 10/17/2018 03:07 am by hartspace »

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126
Re: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018
« Reply #65 on: 10/17/2018 03:10 am »
Quote
11:08 p.m. EDT (0308 UTC)

Centaur's liquid hydrogen tank is 50 percent full. The cryogenic propellant will be consumed with liquid oxygen by the stage's Aerojet Rocketdyne RL10C-1 engine.
https://www.ulalaunch.com/missions/atlas-v-aehf-4

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126
Re: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018
« Reply #66 on: 10/17/2018 03:15 am »
Quote
11:14 p.m. EDT (0314 UTC)

The liquid hydrogen tank in the Centaur upper stage just reached the 96 percent level. Topping is beginning.
https://www.ulalaunch.com/missions/atlas-v-aehf-4

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126
Re: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018
« Reply #67 on: 10/17/2018 03:15 am »
L-1 hour

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126
Re: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018
« Reply #69 on: 10/17/2018 03:18 am »
Quote
11:15 p.m. EDT (0315 UTC)

This is Atlas Launch Control with 60 minutes remaining in our countdown to liftoff at 12:15 a.m. EDT (0415 UTC). Today marks the 79th flight for Atlas 5 since debuting in August 2002. The vehicle has a 100 percent mission success record for the Defense Department, NASA, the National Reconnaissance Office and commercial customers.
https://www.ulalaunch.com/missions/atlas-v-aehf-4

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126
Re: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018
« Reply #71 on: 10/17/2018 03:27 am »
Quote
11:25 p.m. EDT (0325 UTC)

Fast-filling of the first stage liquid oxygen tank has been completed. Topping mode is now underway to give us a fully-fueled, 1.3-million-pound rocket for flight. The cryogenics will be replenished throughout the countdown until the final minutes before launch to replace the liquid oxygen and liquid hydrogen that naturally boils away.
https://www.ulalaunch.com/missions/atlas-v-aehf-4

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126
Re: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018
« Reply #72 on: 10/17/2018 03:30 am »
L-45 minutes

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126
Re: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018
« Reply #74 on: 10/17/2018 03:45 am »
Quote
11:44 p.m. EDT (0344 UTC)

The fuel fill sequence is beginning. This procedure releases RP-1 kerosene fuel into the RD-180 main engine in preparation for ignition.
https://www.ulalaunch.com/missions/atlas-v-aehf-4

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126
Re: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018
« Reply #75 on: 10/17/2018 03:45 am »
L-30 minutes

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126
Re: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018
« Reply #76 on: 10/17/2018 03:46 am »
Quote
11:46 p.m. EDT (0346 UTC)

Weather is observed and forecast GO for liftoff at 12:15 a.m. EDT (0415 UTC) today, according to the countdown’s final planned briefing by Air Force weather officer Jessica Williams.
https://www.ulalaunch.com/missions/atlas-v-aehf-4

Offline hartspace

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • Liked: 226
  • Likes Given: 126

Offline Steven Pietrobon

  • Member
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32478
  • Adelaide, Australia
    • Steven Pietrobon's Space Archive
  • Liked: 21073
  • Likes Given: 3633
Re: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018
« Reply #78 on: 10/17/2018 03:52 am »
Three minutes to start of webcast.
Akin's Laws of Spacecraft Design #1:  Engineering is done with numbers.  Analysis without numbers is only an opinion.

Offline Steven Pietrobon

  • Member
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32478
  • Adelaide, Australia
    • Steven Pietrobon's Space Archive
  • Liked: 21073
  • Likes Given: 3633
Re: Atlas V 551 - AEHF-4 - October 17, 2018
« Reply #79 on: 10/17/2018 03:55 am »
Not for resale!
Akin's Laws of Spacecraft Design #1:  Engineering is done with numbers.  Analysis without numbers is only an opinion.

Tags:
 

Advertisement NovaTech
Advertisement SkyTale Software GmbH
Advertisement Northrop Grumman
Advertisement
Advertisement Brady Kenniston
Advertisement NextSpaceflight
Advertisement Nathan Barker Photography
1