Author Topic: Manned Mars mission using SpaceX Falcon 9 Heavy?  (Read 125244 times)

Offline Dave G

• Liked: 2127
  • Likes Given: 2021
Manned Mars mission using SpaceX Falcon 9 Heavy?
« on: 10/03/2008 02:35 pm »
Since I'm no expert, I was wondering if some people here could help me answer this hypothetical question:

Would it be possible to fly 3-4 people to Mars using multiple SpaceX Falcon 9 Heavy launches?

Specifically:

• How feasible is it to launch parts of a Mars spacecraft, assemble them in LEO, and then perform a trans-Mars injection?

• Assuming Falcon 9 Heavy (F9H) can launch 30,000 kg to LEO, how many launches would this take?

• Given that a Mars mission would last 2 years, a substantial habitat must be on the Mars surface before the crew leaves Earth.  How many F9H launches would it take to get this habitat to the surface ahead of time?

• You would also need a way to get from the Mars spacecraft to the surface and back again, some kind of Mars Excursion Module with descent and ascent stages.  Also, would making propellant for ascent on the surface save much weight? 

• Since 2 years is a long time to sit around in a greenhouse and play bingo, you would presumably want a Mars Rover and some associated consumables on the surface when you arrive.  How many F9H launches might this take?

• What issues would there be in using F9H to launch a small nuclear power device capable of supplying a VASIMR powered spacecraft and/or supplying electricity for a Mars surface habitat and rover?

In short, is such a mission hypothetically feasible?  Also, assuming F9H costs $100M to launch 30,000 kg to LEO, how much would the launch services part of such a mission cost?

Offline mrmandias

• US
  • Liked: 30
  • Likes Given: 34
Re: Manned Mars mission using SpaceX Falcon 9 Heavy?
« Reply #1 on: 10/03/2008 03:48 pm »
The "Mars for Less" plan was based on multiple launches of EELV's. 
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mars_for_Less