Author Topic: Saturn IB with cross-fed first stage  (Read 6417 times)

Offline MattJL

• Rock scientist, not a rocket scientist.
  • United States
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 1
Saturn IB with cross-fed first stage
« on: 10/21/2012 06:17 pm »
After learning about (and finally managing to understand) propellant crossfeeding, I was struck with an idea:  Would this be applicable to, say, a modified Saturn IB?

For simplicity's sake, the S-IB stage would be modified so that it has the standard monolithic fuel/oxidizer tank but retain the same overall mass, etic, as the un-modified stage.

In a fashion similar to the Falcon 9 Heavy (which I based this idea off of), three of the modified S-IBs would be linked together, and the core stage would have an S-IVB atop it.  I've attached a drawing of this for clarity.

Now, since I'm not a rocket scientist (nor do I play one on TV), I have a few questions about this design:  First, could this be able to send a fully fueled Apollo CSM to the Moon, and second, what's the largest payload (mass-wise) that this could loft?

EDIT:  I seem to have fudged my drawing and added adaptors to the top of the modified S-IB stages on either side of the vehicle.
« Last Edit: 10/21/2012 06:20 pm by MattJL »

Offline Proponent

• Liked: 2782
  • Likes Given: 1462
Re: Saturn IB with cross-fed first stage
« Reply #1 on: 10/21/2012 06:57 pm »
In this post (look near the end), the LEO payload of that beast is estimated as about 45,000 kg (100,000 lb).

Offline Jim

• Night Gator
  • Cape Canaveral Spaceport
  • Liked: 21451
  • Likes Given: 428
« Reply #2 on: 10/21/2012 09:15 pm »
Why Saturn IB?

Offline MattJL

• United States
« Reply #3 on: 10/21/2012 09:28 pm »
Why Saturn IB?
It had a comparative role to the Falcon 9, and I was curious what modifying it into a Falcon 9 heavy type vehicle would offer in terms of payload.

More or less a comparison between two somewhat similar vehicles in respect to their roles.

Offline MATTBLAK