Author Topic: Is Orion really capable of reaching Mars?  (Read 26720 times)

Offline Soaring Habu

• Flying At 80,000 Feet
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 2
Is Orion really capable of reaching Mars?
« on: 11/09/2020 12:36 pm »
Unless I'm misinterpreting, NASA's overview of Orion:

https://www.nasa.gov/exploration/systems/orion/about/index.html

seems to indicate that Orion is intended for flights to Mars, or at least the vicinity of Mars, as well as to the Moon. I'm no expert on Mars missions, but from what I've read, a Mars mission would require a one-way journey of at least six to eight months, depending on the relative positions of the Earth and Mars at the time of launch.

Given Orion's Apollo-based design, I'm wondering how Orion will be able to carry sufficient oxygen, food, fuel etc. to support four (or even two) astronauts for such a period of time?
SR-71 Blackbird - Pure Speed!

Offline theprotobe

• Commencing countdown, engines on!
  • Liked: 10
  • Likes Given: 10
Re: Is Orion really capable of reaching Mars?
« Reply #1 on: 11/09/2020 12:56 pm »

seems to indicate that Orion is intended for flights to Mars, or at least the vicinity of Mars, as well as to the Moon. I'm no expert on Mars missions, but from what I've read, a Mars mission would require a one-way journey of at least six to eight months, depending on the relative positions of the Earth and Mars at the time of launch.

Given Orion's Apollo-based design, I'm wondering how Orion will be able to carry sufficient oxygen, food, fuel etc. to support four (or even two) astronauts for such a period of time?
This isn't what they're going to do, AFAIK. NASA will most likely use a Mars Transit Vehicle (A mini space station). This would be assembled at Gateway with Orion, then it would set off for Mars.

Offline sdsds

• “With peace and hope for all mankind.”
  • Seattle
  • Liked: 2050
  • Likes Given: 1962
« Reply #2 on: 11/09/2020 01:10 pm »