Author Topic: Launch Vehicle Technician careers  (Read 8510 times)

Offline gladiator1332

• Fort Myers, FL
  • Liked: 7
  • Likes Given: 6
Launch Vehicle Technician careers
« on: 10/07/2007 04:18 pm »
Right now I am an aviation student at Kent State University and I am in the flight program. I should have my private pilot certificate by Christmas. In the last few months though, I have been considering other non-flying careers.
I switched to an Aeronautical Studies major, which gives you a broad overview of Aeronautics, and allows you to branch out in your classes (I can take more electronics, engineering, and history classes if I want) and prepares you for more careers (including piloting).

I am also a space nut, and since I was a kid I always dreamed of working on the Space Shuttle or some other NASA vehicle.
Which brings me to my question...

What kind of jobs are available that allow you to work on launch vehicles, and their systems? I know there are some guys on here involved with Delta and Atlas...what do you guys do? I'm just wondering what path I would have to take class-wise at college to land a job working on a spacecraft's systems and electronics, or a launch vehicle.

This is just one of many things that I am considering at this very confusing time. I'm really at a crossroads right now...part of me still wants to be a pilot, but another still has this interest in NASA and spaceflight, and another part wants to fix airplanes and work with them in other ways than just flying.

Thanks

Offline Jim

• Night Gator
  • Cape Canaveral Spaceport
  • Liked: 21451
  • Likes Given: 428
Re: Launch Vehicle Avionics / Systems careers
« Reply #1 on: 10/07/2007 04:48 pm »
An engineering degree is a requirement for most, if not, all engineering jobs.
 For hands on work, like most technicians, a certificate from most vocational schools like an A&P one is needed.

Offline vt_hokie

• Hazlet, NJ
  • Liked: 118
  • Likes Given: 436