Author Topic: Speed the earth appears to rotate from the shuttle's view  (Read 10922 times)

Offline Cigaboo

• Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
Hi.  I'm pretty new to this.  I think that shuttles orbit Earth at around 7700 m/s and the surface of the earth rotates at about 464 m/s (at the equator).  Does this sound correct?  This is a difference of a factor of about 16, although the shuttle is further away from the Earth's center.  This would seem to suggest that from the shuttle the earth's rotation (the rate that land passes "underneath" you) is very slow, about one visible "rotation" every 1.5 hours?  If you were to stare at the Earth from the shuttle, it would appear almost static at this rate, correct?

Offline ChrisGebhardt

• Assistant Managing Editor
  • ad astra scientia
  • ~1 AU
  • Liked: 7877
  • Likes Given: 853
Re: speed the earth appears to rotate from the shuttle's view
« Reply #1 on: 08/19/2007 06:25 am »
Okay... the "movement" of the Earth observed from either the Space Shuttle or the ISS is actually their own movement over the surface of the Earth. Think about it this way... you're driving your car down the road. You look out the window and you see the ground moving past your car. Now, you're on the Space Shuttle or ISS and you look out the window. You would see the Earth moving by you. It does not look static. Does this help?

Offline SpaceNutz SA

• Veteran
  • Durban - South Africa
« Reply #2 on: 08/19/2007 06:36 am »
It is a function of both the ISS orbit and the earth rotation.  I think during Apollo or Gemini they differentiated between a spacecraft orbit and spacecraft revolution by saying that a revolution (rev) is a 360 degree angular displacment of the spacecraft where and orbit starts and ends over the same longitude on earth.  Therefore an orbit is slightly longer than a revolution because the spacecraft orbit is posigrade.
"Lets not make things worse by guessing" - Gene Kranz - Apollo 13 Flight Director

Offline Jim

• Night Gator