Author Topic: Rocket and jet engine specific impulse  (Read 8165 times)

Offline KomodoLizard

• Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
Rocket and jet engine specific impulse
« on: 03/04/2011 12:31 am »
Why is the rocket so much lower. I just did a quick calculation on the amount of kerosene a rocket would use per second to generate 250,000 to 300,000 pounds thrust, in other words i left the liquid oxygen out of things. Let's just say a B747 or A 380 would be out of kerosene real quick.

The only thing I could find was the jet had the extra weight of the nitrogen in the air to eject out.

Offline Arthur

• Likes Given: 5
Re: Rocket and jet engine specific impulse
« Reply #1 on: 03/04/2011 01:33 am »
I am no expert, but I think that only a tiny fraction of the oxygen in the air is combusted in a jet engine, so huge volumes of air are free reaction mass boosting the ISP. It is an apples to oranges comparison.

Offline Proponent

• Liked: 2782
  • Likes Given: 1462
« Reply #2 on: 03/04/2011 04:09 am »
As already noted, the jet engine gets it's oxygen from the air.  Since burning a kilogram of kerosene requires about 2.3 kg of oxygen, that gives the jet an advantage of a factor of 3.3 in propellant consumption (1 kg of kerosene rather than 3.3 kg of kerosene plus lox).  The jet's advantage over the rocket is actually much larger than that, however.  I make it about a factor of 40, so very roughly there's another factor of ten to go.  Look at a rocket's exhaust: it's very hot, meaning that there is a lot of energy going to waste in the form of heat out the nozzle.  Jet engines' exhausts aren't nearly so spectacular (though I did once see a Concorde take off under after-burner at dusk: that was spectacular).  I think therefore that most of the jet's advantage comes from its ability to dump a lot of the heat generated into a large mass of air--not necessarily just non-reacting nitrogen--and produce thrust from it.

Offline gospacex

• Liked: 543
  • Likes Given: 604