Author Topic: SLS General Discussion Thread 2  (Read 601540 times)

Offline muomega0

• Liked: 70
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: SLS General Discussion Thread 2
« Reply #280 on: 01/29/2016 09:34 pm »
1 SSPF for cargo processing and preps
It can't  handle encapsulated or hazardous payloads.  Without hazardous processing facility, SLS is limited to Orion.
Wasn't SSPF in the 2016 plus up?

Online Coastal Ron

• I live... along the coast
  • Liked: 10199
  • Likes Given: 11929
« Reply #281 on: 01/29/2016 09:38 pm »
I'm more optimistic than that. I think once past its teething pains SLS could be expected to fly once every 18 months with Orion, and once every 24 months without Orion. If I'm summing correctly, that adds up to an overall flight rate of once every 10.3 months. I would be mildly astonished if with all said and done Boeing and AJR couldn't produce the requisite hardware at that pace.

My background is in manufacturing operations, and I have no doubt that all suppliers in the SLS food chain would be able to meet whatever rate is needed.

So don't worry about how many SLS can be produced, instead focus on how many SLS need to be produced - focus on the payloads and missions that can only be lifted by the SLS.  Because it's never been about whether NASA can build an HLV, but whether NASA needs an HLV.
If we don't continuously lower the cost to access space, how are we ever going to afford to expand humanity out into space?

Offline Robotbeat

• Minnesota
  • Liked: 25240
  • Likes Given: 12115
« Reply #282 on: 01/30/2016 12:18 am »
There's enough money in the world to fly SLS at a much higher flight rate than it is designed for right now (0.5 to 2 per year). And I'm sure the people pushing hard for SLS are hoping on hope that they will get China to go to Mars or something and get that money (from the US Congress, not China... not directly, at least). Which isn't going to happen any time soon.