Author Topic: Man rating EELVs  (Read 67845 times)

Offline mmeijeri

• Martijn Meijering
  • NL
  • Liked: 397
  • Likes Given: 822
Man rating EELVs
« on: 08/11/2009 07:45 pm »
A new thread for discussing everything related to man rating EELVs: cost, logistics, opposition by NASA, opposition by DoD etc.
Pro-tip: you don't have to be a jerk if someone doesn't agree with your theories

Offline agman25

• Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 2
Re: Man rating EELVs
« Reply #1 on: 08/11/2009 08:07 pm »
Did these problems with the DoD insisting on separate production lines and pads for any modified EELV come up during OSP or the spiral development days or are they a post-ESAS thing?

Offline Ben the Space Brit

• A spaceflight fan
  • London, UK
  • Liked: 806
  • Likes Given: 900
« Reply #2 on: 08/12/2009 09:29 am »
@ agman25

I'm no expert at the history.  However, you have to look at the different backgrounds of the two times. 

OSP was one of the two designed major customers of the EELVs alongside DoD payloads.  If the program had proceeded then, the EELVs would have been built as human-rated according to NASA's requirements and the pads would have been built to double as crewed launch sites.  The DoD would have used the same machine and pads for their own launches and that would have been that. 

Now, we are in a situation where NASA is the 'johnny-come-lately' and the USAF is (perhaps, justifiably) worried that two perfectly good launchers may end up being ruined by NASA's bureaucratic fumbling or that human-rating work at LC-37 and LC-41 may delay their own launch schedules.  Instead of being one of the two original major customers, NASA HSF is in the position of being a new customer who wants massive changes to the product that the original major customer isn't happy about.
"Oops! I left the silly thing in reverse!" - Duck Dodgers

~*~*~*~

The Space Shuttle Program - 1981-2011

The time for words has passed; The time has come to put up or shut up!