Author Topic: Any Space/Atmosphere/Gagarin/Moon programmes you recommend?  (Read 3764 times)

Offline buel

• Liked: 11
  • Likes Given: 1
Hi,
Im a newbie on this wonderful forum and, from what i've read so far, it seems to be full of pleasant like-minded people.
 With this in mind, i thought it would be a good idea for anyone to recommend any related TV programmes/DVDs/Radio programmes to each other on the above subjects that we are all interested in!

What gave me this idea was reading the posts on the James May 'Edge of Space' thread+how people helped 'spread the word', so to speak.

For instance, i have a 3 part Radio programme/documentary from a year ago called 'Atmosphere' (i will check that!) that runs for 3 x 30 minutes+is extremely interesting.
I can provide more details if neccessary.
Many thanks- B

Offline simonbp

• Science Guy
  • Liked: 314
  • Likes Given: 183
Science Channel's "Moon Machines" is an excellent overview of Apollo, with each episode focusing on a particular part of hardware and the engineers who built it. I highly recommend it.

http://www.amazon.com/Moon-Machines-Robert-Seamans/dp/B0026IQTR2

Discovery's "When We Left Earth" is a less detailed, more comprehensive history of NASA. If you are new spaceflight, it's great introduction.

http://www.amazon.com/When-We-Left-Earth-Missions/dp/B001BEK8CY/ref=sr_1_1?s=dvd&ie=UTF8&qid=1302642500&sr=1-1
« Last Edit: 04/12/2011 09:09 pm by simonbp »

Offline racshot65

• Aaron Kalair
  • Coventry, England
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
Agree with Simons recommendations there both fantastic shows

If your in the UK the Hugens probe documentary shown a few days ago is worth a watch ...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b0109ccd/Destination_Titan/

Offline buel

Thank you for that Simonbp and Racshot65, i appreciate it!
I have bought the DVD set of 'When We Left Earth' and have watched 2 of the DVDs so far+i find it superb!