Author Topic: Building a Spacecraft to Deorbit ISS 'Not Optional'.  (Read 5441 times)

Offline jstrotha0975

• United States
  • Liked: 330
  • Likes Given: 2597
NASA’s Aerospace Safety Advisory Panel (ASAP) urged the space agency to develop a space tug to deorbit the ISS, saying that the deorbit vehicle is “not optional,”

In this thread we try to figure out a solution.

Source: https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/technology/building-a-spacecraft-to-deorbit-iss-not-optional-claims-nasa-safety-panel/ar-AA1iXJVK

Offline jstrotha0975

• United States
Re: Building a Spacecraft to Deorbit ISS 'Not Optional'.
« Reply #1 on: 10/27/2023 08:06 pm »
I would like to start off. I'm not an aerospace expert but I would like to try. Take an old Dragon 1 capsule and modify it into a space tug. Since it won't be coming back, it doesn't need a heat shield. I think this is the cheapest and easiest solution.

Offline Jim

• Night Gator
  • Cape Canaveral Spaceport
  • Liked: 21437
  • Likes Given: 428
« Reply #2 on: 10/27/2023 08:11 pm »
I would like to start off. I'm not an aerospace expert but I would like to try. Take an old Dragon 1 capsule and modify it into a space tug. Since it won't be coming back, it doesn't need a heat shield. I think this is the cheapest and easiest solution.

Not big enough and thrusters point the wrong way

Offline Jim

• Night Gator
« Reply #3 on: 10/27/2023 08:12 pm »

A larger Cygnus SM is the solution.

Offline Coastal Ron

• I live... along the coast
  • Liked: 10171
  • Likes Given: 11899
« Reply #4 on: 10/27/2023 08:21 pm »

Yeah, you'd need to put an engine and propellant tank in the trunk area. Which I'm sure could be done if you extended the length of the trunk, but not sure if this is the right approach.

I like Cygnus as a tug concept in its current size, so this solution seems to make sense - NASA pays for the up-sized service module, and Northrop Grumman gets a new product to offer to the market - Win-Win!  :D