Author Topic: Understanding and Classifying the Various Scud-Based Launchers  (Read 4073 times)

Offline Danderman

  • Extreme Veteran
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10292
  • Liked: 702
  • Likes Given: 727
Over time, many nations have launched space payloads using Scud variants. Although there have been a proliferation of Scud variants, they generally fall into three categories. Although these three variants have been mentioned by the experts, there isn't any general agreement on how to designate the variants, and some nomenclature is downright wrong. So, here is my attempt:

Scud: This is the designator for any system based on Scud-B (along with Scud-C and Scud-D). Scud-B (R-17)  is the "classic" Scud variant, whereas the -C and -D variants relate to attempts to increase range by payload reduction, or to increase accuracy.

R-18: This was a Russian design to increase the size of the Scud system by 125%. Although the Russians never built or flew an R-18, the North Koreans apparently received R-19 designs and components.  Another designation for R-18 based systems is Scud-M or R-17M, but this designation only confuses people. R-18 is the basis for early North Korean and Iranian space launchers, particularly the larger suborbital systems.

Burya: The Soviet Burya system featured boosters with 4 Scud class engines apiece. The initial Chinese orbital system, Long March 1, featured this as the first stage, and apparently the North Korean orbital launcher also uses a Burya type first stage. It is unknown whether the engines are Scud or R-18 class.

Corrections are welcome.

Offline Vahe231991

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1689
  • 11 Canyon Terrace
  • Liked: 462
  • Likes Given: 199
The R-11 Zemlya was the first missile to given the NATO codename Scud, in this case being codenamed Scud-A. The R-11 was also adapted for use aboard Zulu- and Golf-class submarines as the USSR's first SLBM, the D-1.

Regarding North Korean derivatives of the Scud-B, Scud-C, and Scud-D, the Hwasong-5 and Hwasong-6 were codenamed Scud Mod. B and Scud Mod. C respectively by foreign intelligence, while the Nodong (aka Hwasong-7) was codenamed Scud Mod. D. One Nodong variant, the Nodong-1M, has been codenamed KN-04 by the Pentagon, while variants of the Hwasong-6 and Hwasong-5 with maneuvering capabilities are known by the Pentagon designations KN-18 and KN-21 respectively.


Tags: scud Iran burya north korea 

Advertisement NovaTech
Advertisement Northrop Grumman
Advertisement Margaritaville Beach Resort South Padre Island
Advertisement Brady Kenniston
Advertisement NextSpaceflight
Advertisement Nathan Barker Photography