Author Topic: Canadian in the USA  (Read 2516 times)

Offline wannamoonbase

• Elite Veteran
  • Denver, CO
    • U.S. Metric Association
  • Liked: 3113
  • Likes Given: 3862
Canadian in the USA
« on: 05/22/2006 01:13 pm »
Hi,

I am a Canadian living and working in Florida.  Like many or all here I have been captivated by space and space exploration for as long as I can remember.  Between 1999 and 2002 I was fortunante enough to work at SLC 41 at Cape Canaveral.  It was always hard and awkward being Canadian but after 9/11 it became much more difficult for ITAR and security reasons to work there.

I am trying to get a job at KSC, CCAFS again, and this time I want to stay for the rest of my career.   I know people and have friends there and I some of them want to hire me but they aren't sure if they can.

What I have been able to figure out, is that because of ITAR and because I am Canadian I may not be directly employed by NASA or their contractors, unless I was a permanent resident (on my way to citizenship) and to become a permanent resident I need to get an immigrant Visa (EB-2 or EB-3).

My question is, does anyone on here know if this is correct or if there is another way I can be hired.  

I want to become a citizen but that can take a long time.

Thanks
Wildly optimistic prediction, Superheavy recovery on IFT-4 or IFT-5

Offline simonbp

• Science Guy
  • Liked: 314
  • Likes Given: 183
Re: Canadian in the USA
« Reply #1 on: 05/22/2006 02:41 pm »
Speaking as another Canadian in the US, even with a green card (permenant resident), it's very hard to get into the US aerospace industry. I just got my US citizenship in March, and it's incredible all the oppotunites that opened up; unfortunately, it took the typical 11 years to do so...