Author Topic: Air Supported Structure to support multiple Mass Drivers  (Read 781 times)

Offline Cognisant

• Brisbane, Australia
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
Hello I'm new nice to meet you all, I've no credible background in aerospace, rocketry or anything relevant to this site, except maybe IT support but you seem to have that well covered, I'm here to float an idea and hopefully learn something by seeing it shot down.

For anyone wondering what's this "air supported structure" nonsense:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Air-supported_structure

I'm familiar with the StarTram concept so rest assured I'm not reinventing that wheel rather I have an idea for how the mass driver track can be supported/stabilized which is daunting in scale but seems economical if the megastructure is used to support multiple mass driver tracks. You know those inflated Redbull air racing pylons, or maybe jumping castles are a better example, anyway my idea is to make a conical mountain of air 20km tall and 40km wide (45 degree slope) covered by PVC coated nylon/Kevlar/whatever mesh, on the ocean and weighted down, with as many mass drivers running up the sides as is practical.

Of course you wouldn't have all the tracks meet at the apex ::) but rather angled slightly off so the packages/craft can safely pass by each other, indeed it would be more of a plateau than an apex.

Yes it's a huge project, yes it would cost many billions of dollars, but in terms of getting lots of stuff into space really quickly only an orbital ring would be better and I don't see how anyone can build one of those without building some kind of mass driver system first. Economically the investment would be enormous but assuming there's a demand to get lots of stuff into space really quickly, and we're still launching rockets despite how wildly expensive they are, it could be somewhat profitable.

Offline stefan r

• pennsylvania
  • Liked: 7
  • Likes Given: 12