Author Topic: Does anybody know why Soyuz from Kourou was chosen for Galileo?  (Read 4922 times)

Offline pippin

• Regular
  • Liked: 289
  • Likes Given: 39
I'm just wondering, maybe somebody has some background on this.

Is this mainly to have demonstration flights for Soyuz out of Kourou or is it to have more options? Or more capacity? Or because they don't want to deliver the Galileo sats to Kazakhstan (ITAR-like)?
From what you officially hear out of Arianespace, cost wise it's a draw (4 sats on Ariane 5 cost twice as much as 2 on Soyuz) and I thought (might be wrong) that they do plan some Galileo flights on Ariane 5, too.

The low inclination doesn't help with Galileo, actually it's probably even a slight penalty so you could launch out of Baikonur as well.

Offline Ben the Space Brit

• A spaceflight fan
  • London, UK
  • Liked: 623
  • Likes Given: 740
(Transplanted from Soyus launch live thread)

I'm no expert but I think it's because Soyuz's payload range is more optimal for the launch of Galileo than Ariane-5.  There are probably cost issues too as Soyuz is kerolox and ground ops are likely cheaper than the hydolox/solid Ariane.
"Oops! I left the silly thing in reverse!" - Duck Dodgers

~*~*~*~

The Space Shuttle Program - 1981-2011

The time for words has passed; The time has come to put up or shut up!
DON'T PROPAGANDISE, FLY!!!

Offline pippin

• Regular
But the prices communicated (don't remember the figures exactly, have to dig that out) were roughly a draw. 4 sats on A5 cost twice as much as two sats on Soyuz.
That's per launch so should include ground ops.
Actually ground ops could of course be an argument against Baikonour if they have special stuff that they only have to set up once in Kourou now.

Offline Alpha_Centauri

• England
  • Liked: 201
  • Likes Given: 119