Author Topic: Node 3 / Cupola news  (Read 51326 times)

Offline bobthemonkey

Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #100 on: 09/16/2009 10:47 PM »
Right. Would this be as a replacement for both PMA2 and PMA3?

Any idea as to LV - I guess it would be too wide to be launched atop Orion. Is this something that could be flight ready by the end of STS or go up in the HTV unpressurised section. (I think this was mentioned in an 8th floor update).

Offline Jorge

  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6177
  • Liked: 21
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #101 on: 09/17/2009 12:15 AM »
Right. Would this be as a replacement for both PMA2 and PMA3?

Yes, eventually.

Quote
Any idea as to LV - I guess it would be too wide to be launched atop Orion. Is this something that could be flight ready by the end of STS or go up in the HTV unpressurised section. (I think this was mentioned in an 8th floor update).

The latter.
JRF

Offline Analyst

  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3337
  • Liked: 1
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #102 on: 09/17/2009 05:58 PM »
Learned the answer today. PMA-3 (later CDA) will go to N2z.

With PMA-3 at Node-2 zenith you lose the backup CBM for visiting vehicles (unless a Node-3 CBM could be used, which I don't know). But you have two PMAs at useable locations at a time when you don't need any PMA (from the end of STS to Orion, 7 years).

Wouldn't it be better to have two CBMs for visiting vehicles (Node 2 nadir and zenith) at a time when such flights will happen (HTV, COTS) and just one PMA (like today) when none is actually needed? Put PMA-3 at Node-3 until needed.

General questions about Node-3 CBMs:

1) Which ones will have the technical equipment to be used (port, starboard and nadir, some else)?

2) Which ones could be used from a clearance perspective for say, an SSRMS mounted MPLM (forward? (truss), zenith? (SGANT), aft? (Russian part))?

3) Could PMA-3 live at Node-3 port, or are there clearance issues with the radiator?

Analyst

Offline Jorge

  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6177
  • Liked: 21
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #103 on: 09/17/2009 06:13 PM »
Learned the answer today. PMA-3 (later CDA) will go to N2z.

With PMA-3 at Node-2 zenith you lose the backup CBM for visiting vehicles (unless a Node-3 CBM could be used, which I don't know). But you have two PMAs at useable locations at a time when you don't need any PMA (from the end of STS to Orion, 7 years).

Wouldn't it be better to have two CBMs for visiting vehicles (Node 2 nadir and zenith) at a time when such flights will happen (HTV, COTS) and just one PMA (like today) when none is actually needed? Put PMA-3 at Node-3 until needed.

Duh. I didn't say it would go there *now.*
JRF

Offline Analyst

  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3337
  • Liked: 1
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #104 on: 09/17/2009 07:34 PM »
An where will it go now? It must be at Node-3.

Analyst
« Last Edit: 09/17/2009 07:45 PM by Analyst »

Offline MBK004

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 100
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #105 on: 09/18/2009 12:00 AM »
Had no idea Z1 had an pressurized vestibule, always heard is completely unpressurized.

I remember this coming up before. It is known as the Z1 Dome, if I recall. At one point, someone posted pics of the dome area here.

Still trying to find interior images. No luck yet.
I've got two images of Sergei Krikalev accessing the pressurized volume of Z1 but I don't remember if they are L2 are not (Chris, please advise)

Offline Hungry4info3

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 433
  • Liked: 23
  • Likes Given: 13
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #106 on: 09/18/2009 12:19 AM »
Z1 has a pressurized volume?  ??? 8 :o

Offline simon-th

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 952
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #107 on: 09/18/2009 07:59 AM »
Had no idea Z1 had an pressurized vestibule, always heard is completely unpressurized.

I remember this coming up before. It is known as the Z1 Dome, if I recall. At one point, someone posted pics of the dome area here.

Still trying to find interior images. No luck yet.
I've got two images of Sergei Krikalev accessing the pressurized volume of Z1 but I don't remember if they are L2 are not (Chris, please advise)


Those pics are available on the NASA website.

http://www.nasa.gov/images/content/118032main_hassman_iss_briefing4_med.jpg

Offline Hungry4info3

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 433
  • Liked: 23
  • Likes Given: 13
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #108 on: 09/18/2009 09:11 AM »
Those pics are available on the NASA website.
http://www.nasa.gov/images/content/118032main_hassman_iss_briefing4_med.jpg

Huh, thanks. So what is that used for these days? Storage?

Offline erioladastra

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1246
  • Liked: 70
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #109 on: 09/19/2009 06:27 AM »
Those pics are available on the NASA website.
http://www.nasa.gov/images/content/118032main_hassman_iss_briefing4_med.jpg

Huh, thanks. So what is that used for these days? Storage?

The same use as every inch of unused space on ISS - oacked tight with stowage!

Offline Norm Hartnett

  • Elite Veteran
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2304
  • Liked: 53
  • Likes Given: 2
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #110 on: 01/08/2010 07:28 PM »
http://www.nasaspaceflight.com/2010/01/sts-130-may-postponed-node-3-threatens-swap/

OMG I thought NASA tested everything to a fair-the-well. What happened that they would discover this at the last minute?

(Edit;)
From Bill Harwood, http://www.cbsnews.com/network/news/space/current.html

Quote
NASA managers originally intended to attach Tranquility to Unity's Earth-facing port but later decided to mount it on the left side instead. Connectors needed to circulate ammonia coolant to and from Tranquility were not correctly positioned, or "clocked," for Tranquility to be attached to Unity's left-side port.

As a result, custom hoses and connectors were ordered to compensate for the offset. During a ground test this week, a hose ruptured below the expected threshold. The failure occurred at a pressure of nearly 1,000 pounds per square inch, much higher than normal station pressures of around 300 psi, but engineers are looking into the issue to find out what might be needed to resolve the matter.
« Last Edit: 01/08/2010 07:40 PM by Norm Hartnett »
“You can’t take a traditional approach and expect anything but the traditional results, which has been broken budgets and not fielding any flight hardware.” Mike Gold - Apollo, STS, CxP; those that don't learn from history are condemned to repeat it: SLS.

Offline rdale

  • Assistant to the Chief Meteorologist
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9891
  • Lansing MI
  • Liked: 236
  • Likes Given: 21
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #111 on: 01/08/2010 08:17 PM »
http://www.nasaspaceflight.com/2010/01/sts-130-may-postponed-node-3-threatens-swap/

I thought NASA tested everything to a fair-the-well. What happened that they would discover this at the last minute?

http://forum.nasaspaceflight.com/index.php?topic=19996.msg522994#msg522994

More info on the test issues in L2.
« Last Edit: 01/08/2010 08:17 PM by rdale »

Offline Jim

  • Night Gator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 31222
  • Cape Canaveral Spaceport
  • Liked: 9495
  • Likes Given: 298
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #112 on: 01/08/2010 09:10 PM »

OMG I thought NASA tested everything to a fair-the-well. What happened that they would discover this at the last minute?


It failed a test.

Offline Pheogh

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 897
  • Liked: 5
  • Likes Given: 2
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #113 on: 03/16/2010 11:06 PM »
I seem to remember that Node 3 and Cupola were to be moved to the Nadir port of Node 2 is that still happening or did I miss something?

Offline Jorge

  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6177
  • Liked: 21
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #114 on: 03/16/2010 11:09 PM »
I seem to remember that Node 3 and Cupola were to be moved to the Nadir port of Node 2 is that still happening or did I miss something?

That was never the plan. Node 3 was originally planned to be berthed to Node 1 nadir. I don't believe there are any plans to relocate it.
JRF

Offline mmeijeri

  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7442
  • Martijn Meijering
  • NL
  • Liked: 70
  • Likes Given: 162
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #115 on: 03/16/2010 11:15 PM »
Why didn't they put Node 3 at Node 2 forward?
We will be vic-toooooo-ri-ous!!!

Offline Jorge

  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6177
  • Liked: 21
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #116 on: 03/16/2010 11:17 PM »
Why didn't they put Node 3 at Node 2 forward?

Umbilical reach, for one. SSRMS reach (can't pull shuttle payloads out of the bay because it's further away) for another.
JRF

Offline Pheogh

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 897
  • Liked: 5
  • Likes Given: 2
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #117 on: 03/16/2010 11:19 PM »
I seem to remember that Node 3 and Cupola were to be moved to the Nadir port of Node 2 is that still happening or did I miss something?

That was never the plan. Node 3 was originally planned to be berthed to Node 1 nadir. I don't believe there are any plans to relocate it.

???

Offline Jim

  • Night Gator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 31222
  • Cape Canaveral Spaceport
  • Liked: 9495
  • Likes Given: 298
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #118 on: 03/16/2010 11:23 PM »
That is Node 1 nadir.

Offline Pheogh

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 897
  • Liked: 5
  • Likes Given: 2
Re: Node 3 / Cupola news
« Reply #119 on: 03/16/2010 11:30 PM »
That is Node 1 nadir.

Sorry, that is what I meant. Is the plan to move Node3 and Cupola to a Nadir position or are they being left where they are, and if so why?


Tags: