Author Topic: Advice for a space novice - ISS viewing from transatlantic aircraft  (Read 3056 times)

Offline boeing767

• Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
Hi all,

I am an airline pilot and was flying back from the states to the UK in the early hours of this morning (August 15th). At about 5:00 GMT and around 45N 50W. On the left hand side of the aircraft I witnessed the most amazing bright light in quite a linear trajectory moving rapidly away from us. The light was moving much to quickly and much to high to be an aircraft. The other pilot suggested it might be a star/space station hence the forum post. I must apologize for my naivety regarding this subject however I was fascinated by what I saw and wondered if anyone knows what it could have been. Is there is a good website I can use to get an idea of what I am looking at whilst gazing out of the flight deck at that time in the morning.

Many thanks,
« Last Edit: 08/16/2010 01:52 AM by Chris Bergin »

Online dsmillman

• Liked: 39

Offline sdsds

• "With peace and hope for all mankind."
  • Seattle
  • Liked: 575
  • Likes Given: 676
Re: Advice for a space novice
« Reply #2 on: 08/15/2010 10:59 PM »
Are you certain of the time?  Here's the ground track of the International Space Station (ISS) about an hour later:

http://www.heavens-above.com/gtrack.asp?date=40405.2581674884&lat=45&lng=-50&alt=0&loc=Unspecified&TZ=UCT&satid=25544

ISS would have been visible with magnitude -1.5.

http://www.heavens-above.com/PassSummary.aspx?satid=25544&lat=45&lng=-50&loc=Unspecified&alt=0&tz=UCT&Date=55423
-- sdsds --

Offline David AF

• F-22 Raptor Instructor / Fighter Pilot
« Reply #3 on: 08/15/2010 11:47 PM »
There's a one hour difference between GMT and UK time, which would make this a match for the transatlantic corridor.
F-22 Raptor instructor

Offline Jim Davis

• Liked: 56
« Reply #4 on: 08/15/2010 11:54 PM »
The light was moving much to quickly and much to high to be an aircraft.