Author Topic: Working at NASA  (Read 31640 times)

Offline seanross

• Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
Working at NASA
« on: 02/25/2007 04:38 pm »
Hi, I'm sean, I'm a Freshman in high school and I'm really interested in space flight. I want to major in engineering when I get to college (soooo far away). I was hoping that someone who works for NASA here could help me out and give me some tips on how to get into NASA when I graduate and maybe suggest some cool classes to take. Thanks.

Offline Flightstar

• Lurking around OPF High Bay 2
  • KSC, Florida
  • Liked: 78
  • Likes Given: 8
RE: help out a highschool student?
« Reply #1 on: 02/25/2007 05:07 pm »
First rule is to remember what NASA is. There's plently of engineering areas which are not NASA, but may appear to be. United Space Alliance, Lockheed Martin, Boeing, etc.etc.

Only tip I could send you right now is to look towards Aerospace engineering if you can, or aim towards that. The rest will be down to which college and a lot of luck, willinness to work long hours for poor pay and be dedicated to it. Of course, this is the worst time to be looking to get into this as we head to the black hole of shuttle retirement.

Look at commercial, not NASA, I'm sorry to say.

Offline Jim

• Night Gator
  • Cape Canaveral Spaceport
  • Liked: 21451
  • Likes Given: 428
Re: help out a highschool student?
« Reply #2 on: 02/25/2007 05:47 pm »
mechanical engineering would be more marketable inside and outside of the aerospace field.  minoring in aero would be better

Offline mong'

• Whatever gets us to Mars
« Reply #3 on: 02/25/2007 05:51 pm »
...Of course, this is the worst time to be looking to get into this as we head to the black hole of shuttle retirement.

well, he is a high school freshman, so it won't be for a number of years (8-10 ?) surely by then things will have calmed down ?

Offline MySDCUserID

• Veteran
  • Liked: 55
  • Likes Given: 10
« Reply #4 on: 02/25/2007 06:57 pm »
Jim - 25/2/2007  12:47 PM