Author Topic: Best international schools and can I make it as a mature student?  (Read 1337 times)

Offline Oort

• UK
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
Hello, I have a couple of questions and I'm hoping you guys can help.
At the grand old age of 35 I have decided to make a career change by studying Astronautics or Space Engineering. I have a bachelors in Mechanical Engineering and I'm British.

1) Firstly, do you think it is actually going to be possible to get in to the industry despite my late start and the fact that I do not have much engineering experience since my bachelors?

2) I would love to go to college in the USA but the cost is looking prohibitive (unless anyone knows of something of better value?!). I'm looking at the Masters degrees below and wondered what sort of reputation these courses have? Which is the most renowned?

- International Space Uni, Strasbourg.   Master of Space Studies - E25,000
- Rome Sapienza Uni.   Space and Astronautical Engineering - $minimal cost, just enrolment fees
- TU Berlin. Masters Space Eng ~ E18,500
- The European space masters. Split across several unis. I really like the idea of this one but does the reputation hold up? - $minimal cost, just enrolment fees

Other: Uni Milan, Uni of Pisa, Cranfield UK, Tokyo

I would love to hear your opinions and if there is anywhere else you recommend or people I should talk to, that would be a massive help!

Thank you

Offline Baranquilla

• Belgium
  • Liked: 80
  • Likes Given: 63
Couple of question:
 What kind of work have you been doing ever since graduating?
Do you want a space engineering master or a space studies master? The difference being that any space engineering master will put less emphasis on the business, management and law behind the space industry.