Author Topic: Will NASA actually return mankind to the moon?  (Read 17658 times)

Offline Roo

• Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
Will NASA actually return mankind to the moon?
« on: 11/23/2009 09:40 PM »
Dear all,

A simple question really, but is it genuinely likely that NASA will push ahead with the Constellation program given all the recent problems?

I'd be very interested to hear the views from any NASA engineers.

Roo.

Offline Orbiter

• Florida
  • Liked: 482
  • Likes Given: 934
Re: Will NASA actually return mankind to the moon?
« Reply #1 on: 11/23/2009 09:48 PM »
I personally think they will, just not in 10 years. More like 15-20.

I'm not a NASA engineer though, just a space flight enthusiast.

Orbiter.
Attended space missions: STS-114, STS-124, STS-128, STS-135, Atlas V "Curiosity", Delta IV Heavy NROL-15, Atlas V MUOS-2, Delta IV Heavy NROL-37, Falcon 9 CRS-9, Falcon 9 JCSAT-16, Atlas V GOES-R, Falcon 9 SES-11, Falcon Heavy Demo, Falcon 9 Es'hail-2.

Offline kraisee

• Expert
  • Liked: 419
  • Likes Given: 19
« Reply #2 on: 11/23/2009 10:01 PM »
They need a *lot* more money than they are getting to have any chance at all.   The USA is in an economically difficult time, so more money is very unlikely.   The gargantuan deficit means this economically difficult time will take an extremely long time to get out of.

Ross.
« Last Edit: 11/23/2009 10:03 PM by kraisee »
"The meek shall inherit the Earth -- the rest of us will go to the stars"
-Robert A. Heinlein

Offline Lee Jay

• Elite Veteran
  • Global Moderator
  • Liked: 1000
  • Likes Given: 140
« Reply #3 on: 11/23/2009 10:45 PM »
They need a *lot* more money than they are getting to have any chance at all.   The USA is in an economically difficult time, so more money is very unlikely.   The gargantuan deficit means this economically difficult time will take an extremely long time to get out of.

Ross.