Author Topic: 1/200 Shuttle Orbiter questions and recommendations  (Read 2564 times)

Offline AstroBeatle

Hey guys, I'm thinking of buying a new shuttle orbiter model (1/144 or 1/200, but preferably 1/200 because I will be moving a few times within the next year). How do the 1/200 orbiters from Revell (Snaptite version of course), Lindberg and Hasegawa differ? Advantages and disadvantages for each? Which of these would you recommend for me?
By the way, I'm a noob modeler and I've completed only one model kit in the past. A year and a half ago I assembled the 1/288 shuttle stack from Academy (after failing and discarding the previous two same kits  :P), which I finished in the style of STS-1. I used permanent marker because I extremely suck at hand painting. The only parts I hand painted are just the grey linings of the delta wings. I included a picture of my completed model in the attachments if that helps you figure out my skill level.
If I get a new shuttle, I will very likely use spray paint but maybe I will use permanent marker or a little bit of hand painting for the finer details.
« Last Edit: 11/22/2017 01:58 pm by AstroBeatle »

Offline thomasafb

• Shuttle Hugger
  • Liked: 20
  • Likes Given: 30
Re: 1/200 Shuttle Orbiter questions and recommendations
« Reply #1 on: 11/23/2017 07:45 am »
i built the Hasegawa Shuttle & SCA kit and i liked the orbiter. I remember the Revell version had the PLBD hinges on the outside. Never had the Lindberg kit.
What you might want to consider (especially if u want to avoid dealing with paint) is the recently announced Hobby Master Orbiter. Not a kit, but might be worth a look. http://hobbymastercollector.com/HL1401.html