Author Topic: Project Thoth - A Manned Lunar Return Study  (Read 31963 times)

Offline MattJL

• Rock scientist, not a rocket scientist.
  • United States
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 1
Project Thoth - A Manned Lunar Return Study
« on: 01/21/2013 04:22 am »
Part 1 of 3: Background and the Workhorse of the Fleet:  Apex.

(I do hope that this is in the right place... didn't feel too Advanced Concept-y to me).

Well, this has taken a bit of courage to write, and I really hope this idea doesn’t seem too outlandish.  I hope that this doesn’t seem too much like an advertisement, as I’m really throwing this out there with the hopes of it getting torn apart mercilessly.  This has been in my head for a while, and I think it needs to get out.

So I’ve been generating this idea for about six months now as a commercial approach to a manned lunar return with the goal of lowering cost and increasing flexibility of the system.  I call it Thoth, after the Egyptian god of the Moon.  The Thoth system consists of a launch vehicle family (Apex) and two spacecraft, the 10-ton Phoenix and the 23-ton Artemis lunar lander, which I will talk about in parts 2 and 3.  But this first installment will focus on the workhorse LV – Apex.