Author Topic: Could a Falcon 9 first stage land on firm land by crossing the Atlantic?  (Read 3172 times)

Offline aceshigh

• Liked: 171
  • Likes Given: 16
In another forum, unrelated to SpaceFlight, but where there is a thread about Spaceflight news, somebody made this question and I said it could not be done, because the barge currently is located only about 350 km from the Cape (according to some extrapolation made on Reddit) and the first stage does not reach orbit.

the person answered "Crossing the ocean would be a sub-orbital flight, though. Kind of like an ICBM, just loads more peaceful."

Well, I am no expert, so I told him that I would ask the experts here at NSF instead of being assertive about something that goes beyond my knowledge.

So, could it be done?

I would guess that SpaceX intends in the future to launch from Texas maybe and land on Cape Canaveral, which is a longer hop than the barge landings nowaday but still a loooong way from the huge hop from Cape to the other side of the Atlantic.

My impression is that even being a suborbital flight you would still need to reach higher for less atmospheric drag and faster than the first stage is able to (10 thousand km per hour as far as I know) in other to cross 6000 kilometers to the other side of the Atlantic. (5000 km to the Azores)

Offline Jim

• Night Gator
  • Cape Canaveral Spaceport
  • Liked: 9624
  • Likes Given: 299
No.   The first stage doesn't have the energy.  Most ICBM's have 2 or more stages, so that should be an indication.

Offline rocx

• NL
  • Liked: 263
  • Likes Given: 145
Well, that was the Jim answer. Now let's give the Elon Musk answer, in other words, take it down to the physics:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sub-orbital_spaceflight