Author Topic: F-1 engine and the federal law Q&A  (Read 2178 times)

Offline DSA

• Oxford, UK
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
F-1 engine and the federal law Q&A
« on: 07/01/2014 10:04 pm »
I'm a newbie here, and I've read all the rules regarding to the threads. If I committed an error, please do not hesitate to correct me  :)
___

Lately, I began to make lots of researches about rocket engineering. Then I got interested in Rocketdyne's F-1 engine from the Apollo program. Here's the question, this may sound may a bit stupid, is there any way I could get an access to the F-1 full schematic somewhere? I mean like well detailed, or is it possible to gain access to F-1B engine CAD from Dynetics as a sixth form student (UK citizen) for educational purpose..? In terms of security. how does the Federal Law states about old Rocket technologies like the one from Apollo program?

Offline John C

• Australia
  • Liked: 1
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: F-1 engine and the federal law Q&A
« Reply #1 on: 07/05/2014 10:55 pm »
Hi DSA. I doubt that there would be any national security issues around the F-1 engine.

Have you thought of contacting RocketDyne (the manufacturer) directly? There's a good chance they'll be willing to help you.  Barring that, a google image search for "Apollo F-1 schematic" turned up a few interesting sites that might be helpful to you, depending on how much detail you need - you may have trouble finding dimensioned drawings online.

I found heroicrelics.org has sections on the F-1 thrust chamber, injectors, turbopump etc, including links to very detailed PDF technical documents. It's an interesting site though I'm not a fan of the layout.

No doubt some of the older hands here will have better suggestions than me - I am a newbie too. Good luck with your project :)

Afterthought: May I ask what kind of project you're working on?

« Last Edit: 07/05/2014 11:03 pm by John C »

Offline Adaptation

• Liked: 40
  • Likes Given: 38

Offline JohnFornaro

• Not an expert