Author Topic: 21st Century Space Shuttle/Ship -  (Read 22103 times)

Offline Mr. Justice

• Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
21st Century Space Shuttle/Ship -
« on: 12/26/2009 06:53 pm »
This is my proposal for how NASA should move forward with manned exploration. I am not an engineer or scientist, but I am a fan of space exploration. Please let me know what you think. Why it will work? Why it won't work? How to make this plan better?

As the Space Shuttle Program comes to an end, the United States is faced with the reality of only being able to buy tickets to put humans into space. The Constellation Program, intended to replace the Space Shuttle, was flawed from day one. Orion is not a spacecraft for the future but rather a return to the past. The Space Shuttle was suppose to mark the end of parachuting back to Earth and be the first space plane, instead under NASA’s current plans it will have been merely a generational interlude. Ares I and V, two massive rockets, are planned for Constellation. Ares I has already cost billions and will cost billions more and years more before its ready to fly. Ares V will cost billions more and it will be the better part of a decade before it flies. Constellation must be scraped immediately to save billions of dollars and allow NASA to develop a truly 21st century spacecraft.

The best option for the Space Shuttle’s replacement is a SDLV. My proposal is fairly straight forward. Take the Space Shuttle stack and remove the Orbiter. Replace the current SRBs with two 5-segment SRBs. The ET will keep its current configuration subject, however, to a reduction in size – and hopefully better remedies to deal with any potential foam loss.