Author Topic: O'Neill Cylinder Mission - tech limitations.  (Read 28072 times)

Offline nestormakhno

• Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
O'Neill Cylinder Mission - tech limitations.
« on: 01/25/2013 05:08 pm »
Hi there,

I am a video game developer and am interested in some background for a hard science adventure game set on an O'Neill Cylinder with some form of propulsion system. I would to get some background knowledge on the limitations (with current or near-future tech, and current or nascent knowledge) on the development of the following:

An O'Neill cylinder large enough to house a self-sustaining ecosystem during a mission to nearby candidate star systems with potentially exploitable/colonisable planetary systems.

For the purpose of this discussion let us assume that budget and project duration are essentially unlimited.

I understand that reading these forums there are a huge variety of users with knowledge in different fields possibly germane to this concept. I would like to categorise responses into the following areas:

Destination: Which star systems seems likely to have planets that are in any way exploitable by such a mission and are even potentially colonisable? Assuming best concepts for interstellar engines, how many years/generations would we expect a mission there to last?

Cylinder Specification: What materials would be best used for construction of such a cylinder? What propulsion system could, with current or near future tech, be used? What would be the optimum size for the population of this cylinder to be self-sustaining? What would be the optimum size for cylinder assuming such a population, if they are to remain sane and well-adjusted over a many-generation journey? How much of the cylinder should be devoted to hydroponics, industry, residence etc? What would be best used as light source for the cylinder interior?